Finding Courage to Leave in 2015

2015 so far has been a remarkable journey for me because I faced everything that I was running away from for the last few years. I found courage to leave all those friendships where Allaah’s commands were not taken seriously, where people chose Dunya over Deen, where my Islamic advices weren’t taken and where I didn’t find peace and happiness because my joy is in obeying Allaah and His commands and His last Messenger sall Allaahu alayhi wa sallam. In the beginning of 2015 I left a close friend whose companionship I doubted for years but never found courage to end the relationship. I was embraced with joy when I finally announced ‘we can’t be close friends anymore.’ Since I left her for Allaah, my Lord replaced me with even better and the best of friends that I couldn’t even dream of. Later I started avoiding all those people (non kin folks) who are open sinners.

Well, then I went on to delete my personal Facebook account to avoid seeing folks’ sins on my newsfeed and to love people without having to know their sin list. It definitely brought much more happiness to my life that I can now breathe fresh air.

I gave dawah to my extended family this year Alhamdulilah and I wore the veil in my country where a little girl thought I am a ghost. Such racist kids to be honest. I visited Dhaka which was nothing like I have thought. Hated the city and once again fell in love with my hometown, Sylhet. I now understand why non Sylehtis love Sylhet so much. Before when someone would praise my city in my presence I wouldn’t understand what the fuss was all about it. Now I do understand Alhamdulilah.

In 2015 I started taking Arabic lessons in the madrasah and appreciated the help of  my teachers. I left school and was grateful for them to get my certificate attested and teaching me fluent English. I got along with people at Madrasah and found it to be such a peaceful place.

I started university and  I learned how people in my university are kind and caring. With each day I came to love the online environment that I am studying in.

This year I also studied that some admins of the online dawah accounts are not at all what they seem online. They are not that pious in real life and wouldn’t even exchange  salam with their Muslim sisters. But for them is a severe warning that they will be punished for advising others of things they don’t do themselves. I will provide all the evidences below.

I started avoiding places where sins are committed openly. On the other hand I bonded with my cousins and my relatives. For all those who ask if i speak to my cousins yes I do. Such a cheap question to ask someone. I have no enmity towards any of my cousins and relatives. Therefore I get along with each one of them.

I met a ton of people from different cultures and made new long lasting friends who love to obey Allaah as He should be obeyed. They are also like me fighting for Allaah and defending Islam for only His pleasure.

Overall I found my courage this year, the courage to leave places, people and things that are disliked by my Lord.

My late paternal grandpa wrote that on the bench. Location: Sujanogor, Borlekha, Syleht, Bangladesh

My late paternal grandpa wrote that on the bench.
Location: Sujanogor, Borlekha, Syleht, Bangladesh

The city of Sylhet on a Friday morning.

The city of Sylhet on a Friday morning.

 

With regard to sinning Muslims, we should love them according to the faith that they have, and hate them according to the sins and immoral actions they commit, but being friends with them goes against the words of the Prophet (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him): “The likeness of a good companion and a bad companion is that of a perfume seller and one who works the bellows. With the perfume seller, either he will give you something or you will buy something from him, or you will notice a good smell from him, but with the one who works the bellows, either he will burn your clothes or you notice a bad smell from him.” Narrated by Muslim, no. 2628.

 

Beware of the bad companion, for he may influence you and people are like birds, they will resemble one another [i.e., “birds of a feather flock together”]. So beware of mixing with people like that, for that is a sickness, and prevention is better than cure.
The Prophet (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) said: “A man will follow the religion of his close friend, so let each of you look to who he takes a close friend.”
Narrated by al-Tirmidhi, 2378; classed as hasan by al-Albaani in Saheeh al-Tirmidhi, 1937.

Whoever gives up something for Alllaah, Allaah will compensate him with something better, because “Whoever gives up something for the sake of Allaah, Allaah will compensate him with something better than that, as the Prophet (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) told us, the one who speaks the truth and does not speak of his own whims and desires. Allaah is the source of strength the One Who guides to the Straight Path. 

Note that whoever gives up a thing for the sake of Allaah, Allaah will compensate him with something better, and that with hardship comes ease, and that whosoever fears Allaah and keeps his duty to Him, He will make a way for him to get out (from every difficulty), and He will provide him from (sources) he never could imagine. 

Whoever gives up something for the sake of Allah, Allah will compensate him with something better than it. Allah says (interpretation of the meaning):

“And whosoever fears Allaah and keeps his duty to Him, He will make a way for him to get out (from every difficulty).

3. And He will provide him from (sources) he never could imagine. And whosoever puts his trust in Allaah, then He will suffice him. Verily, Allaah will accomplish his purpose. Indeed Allaah has set a measure for all things”

[al-Talaaq 65:2-3]

“and whosoever fears Allaah and keeps his duty to Him, He will make his matter easy for him”

[al-Talaaq 65:4]

Every time you think there is no way out, remember what Allah says (interpretation of the meaning):

“Allaah will grant after hardship, ease”

[al-Talaaq 65:7].

 

But the one who wants to enjoin what is good and forbid what is evil should not let his actions contradict his words; rather he should enjoin what is good and do it, and he should forbid what is evil and avoid it. Allah, may He be exalted, says (interpretation of the meaning):

“O you who believe! Why do you say that which you do not do?

Most hateful it is with Allah that you say that which you do not do”

[as-Saff 61:2-3].

And Shu ‘ayb (peace be upon him) said:

“I wish not, in contradiction to you, to do that which I forbid you”

[Hood 11:88].

Al-Bukhaari (3267) and Muslim (2989) narrated that Usaamah ibn Zayd (may Allah be pleased with him) said: I heard the Messenger of Allah (blessings and peace of Allah be upon him) say: “A man will be brought on the Day of Resurrection and thrown into the Fire; his intestines will spill forth in the Fire and he will go around as a donkey goes around the millstone. The people of Hell will gather around him and will say: O So and so, what is the matter with you? Did you not enjoin what is good and forbid what is evil? He will say: Yes, but I used to enjoin good and not do it, and I used to forbid evil and do it.”

Ibn Baaz (may Allah have mercy on him) said:

One of the qualities and characteristics that the daa‘iyah (the one who calls others to Allah) should – indeed must – have is that he must act upon what he calls people to and he should be a good example of what he is promoting. He should not be one of those who call people to something then fail to do it themselves, or who tell people not to do something, then do it. That is the state of the losers; we seek refuge with Allah from that. As for the believers who will succeed, they call people to the truth and act in accordance with it, striving and hastening to attain it, and keeping away from that which they tell others not to do.

End quote from Majmoo‘ Fataawa Ibn Baaz, 1/346

Ibn ‘Uthaymeen (may Allah have mercy on him) said:

Part of the etiquette of enjoining what is good and forbidding what is evil is that one should be the first to obey the commands and the first to avoid what is forbidden.

End quote from Sharh Riyaadh as-Saaliheen, p. 202

If a person exhorts his brother concerning a sin that he himself has fallen into, although this is something that is not befitting for the Muslim, it does not come under the heading of hypocrisy or showing off.

The Standing Committee was asked:

If I exhort my brothers and warn them against certain sins, but I myself fall into those sins, am I regarded as a hypocrite?

The Committee replied: You have to repent from sins and exhort your brothers to avoid them. It is not permissible for you to commit sins and fail to advise your brothers, because this is combining two sins. You have to repent to Allah from that whilst still advising your brothers. That is not hypocrisy, but you have fallen into something for which Allah criticises those who do it, as He, may He be glorified, says (interpretation of the meaning):

“O you who believe! Why do you say that which you do not do?

Most hateful it is with Allah that you say that which you do not do”

[as-Saff 61:2-3]

“Enjoin you Al-Birr (piety and righteousness and each and every act of obedience to Allah) on the people and you forget (to practise it) yourselves, while you recite the Scripture! Have you then no sense?”

[al-Baqarah 2:44].

End quote from Fataawa al-Lajnah ad-Daa’imah, 12/268

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Finding Courage to Leave in 2015

  1. Contrary to what some people think, deleting social media account is actually difficult:/ but doing so frees up lots of negative emotions you have been feeling. Been through it too and good to see you in a more positive mind:)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

