Beautiful Married Life

​It was said to Abu Uthman An-Naysaburi : What from your actions is most valuable to you? 

He said: I was in my youth and my family was striving hard to convince me to marry but I refused. A woman came to me and said : ‘O Abu Uthman, indeed I am infatuated with you. I ask you by Allaah, to marry me.’ So I went to her father, who was poor, and he married her to me and he was very happy with that. When she entered upon me I saw she was crossed-eyed, crippled and deformed. 

Due to her love for me she would prevent me from going out so I would sit with her to soothe her heart and I didn’t display to her any aversion, yet it was if I was burning due to the aversion which I had for her. I remained like this for fifteen years until she passed away.
There is none of my actions that I hope to preserve more than my (action of) preservation of her heart.

Ibn al-Jawzi رحمه الله‎‎, Sayd al-Kathir Page 132, Translated by Raha ibn Donald Batts.

Leave a Reply

